Next up: Nov. 6 General Election! A breakdown of who made it onto the ballot

The 2018 Arizona primary election attracted attention from across the country, and for good reason. It is the first time since United States Senator Jeff Flake was elected in 2012 that none of the Senate candidates are incumbents.

Flake’s retirement drew out Republicans U.S. Rep. Martha McSally, former state legislator Kelli Ward, and former Maricopa County Sheriff Joe Arpaio, and Democrats U.S. Rep. Kyrsten Sinema and attorney Deedra Abboud.

This year also marks the first time that Gov. Doug Ducey faces reelection.

Governor of Arizona winners

Doug Ducey (R) is the 32nd and current Governor of Arizona. He is running on the platform of “securing Arizona’s future.” His top three issues are increasing safety and security for all Arizonans; providing more money for public schools; and creating jobs and economic security.

David Garcia (D) is a military veteran and former teacher who “wants Arizona to have top quality schools, good paying jobs and honest government.”

U.S. Senate winners

Martha McSally (R) is the current congresswoman for Arizona’s Second Congressional District, where she was elected in 2014. Prior to her career in politics, she was in the United States Air force for 26 years. During her three years in office she has fought for the funding of A-10 Warthogs to support American troops, helped restore the rights for World War II female pilots to have their ashes in Arlington National Cemetery, created legislature to fast track veterans to get jobs at the border when there are critical vacancies, and spearheaded solutions to secure the Southwest border.

Kyrsten Sinema (D) is the current Congresswoman for Arizona’s Ninth Congressional District, where she was elected in 2012. Prior to becoming a politician, she was a social service worker, criminal defense lawyer and professor at Arizona State University. She lists her top priorities as “fixing a dysfunctional Washington; [providing] quality, affordable health care for all Arizonans; supporting our veterans and fixing the VA; keeping Arizona families safe; keeping promises to seniors; creating good jobs and growing Arizona’s economy; [passing] commonsense immigration reform; and standing up for women and families.”

Secretary of State winners

Steve Gaynor (R) graduated from Harvard Business School and spent almost 40 years in business. He plans to restore voter confidence by strengthening Arizona’s requirement for proof of citizenship when registering to vote; make sure the Secretary of State’s office follows all laws governing elections; improve the law by updating areas like ballot harvesting and redistricting; save money by not tolerating failed information technology projects; take cybersecurity seriously; and rebuild relationships with County Recorders.

Katie Hobbs (D) has been a social worker for over 25 years and is currently a state legislator. She plans to end long lines that prevent Arizonans from participating in elections; to protect access to the ballot; and continuing her mission of best serving the interest of the people of Arizona.

Corporation Commissioner winners:  

Justin Olson (R) was appointed by Governor Ducey in 2017. His top priorities are “to stand up for Arizona taxpayers on the Commission and ensure that their interests are always protected.” He was elected to the House of Representatives in 2010 on the platform of lower taxes, smaller government, and more freedom. Prior to his political career he was a tax analyst. He plans to help reduce government spending, protect the interests of utility customers, and holding utility companies accountable to their customers.

Rodney Glassman (R) spent the majority of his professional career in the private sector. He is a “proponent of free markets, small government, and a strong economy.” He served on the Tucson City Council working on issues mostly related to water. He plans to bring a strong focus on water issues and continue growing Arizona’s economy by providing citizens and employers to reliable power at low prices.

Sandra Kennedy (D) served in both the Arizona House of Representatives and state Senate before she was elected to the Arizona Corporation in 2008. She is an advocate for solar energy, “a natural resource in our state;” creating more renewable energy; keeping consumer rates low; and encouraging water conservation.

Kiana Sears (D) has spent the last two decades studying and working in legislation. She served as Water and Wastewater Executive Consultant for the Arizona Corporation Commission, becoming an “expert” in utility operations and statues. Her priorities are to “restore the position’s dignity; end practices like corporate “water farming;” ensure water supply is clean and free of lead; and catch Arizona up on the massive job growth in the solar industry.” She supports the effort to require 80 percent of Arizona’s energy come from renewables by 2050.

U.S. House of Representative winners

District 1: Tom O’Halleran (D) vs. Wendy Rogers (R)

District 2: Ann Kirkpatrick (D) vs. Lee Marquez Peterson (R)

District 3: Raul Grijalva (D) vs. Nick Pierson (R)

District 4: David Brill [Note: votes are still being tallied as of press time.] (D) vs. Paul Gosar (R)

District 5: Joan Greene (D) vs. Andy Biggs (R)

District 6: Anita Malik [Note: votes are still being tallied as of press time.] (D) vs. David Schweikert (R)

District 7: Ruben Gallego (D)

District 8: Hiral Tipirneni (D) vs. Debbie Lesko (R)

District 9: Greg Stanton (D) vs. Steve Ferrara (R)

Attorney General winners:  January Contreras (D) vs. Mark Brnovich (R)

State Treasurer winners: Mark Manoil (D) vs. Kimberly Yee (R)

Superintendent of Public Instruction: Kathy Hoffman (D) vs. Frank Riggs (R) [Note: votes are still being tallied as of press time.]

For the results of Arizona state representatives and senators click here.

Emily Richardson

1 comment

Subscribe to the Dry Heat

Get updates on the most important news delivered right to your email. Fully personalized options. No SPAM. Unsubscribe anytime.

Sign Me Up!

Let’s Get Social

Chamber Business News wants to connect with you. Follow us, tweet, share, post, comment... however you get social is the perfect way to connect.